You

(Living with Hallucinations)

 

I see you

Hiding in the shaded corner of the closet

You delight in evading my glances

 

I see you

Shifting right in front of me

You’re too quick to capture

 

I see you

Peering through the broken blinds

You pretend the wall divides us

 

I hear you

Calling my name from the depths

You chill my bones

 

I feel you

Choking me with my own blankets

You rush away as I wake up gasping for air

 

I feel you

Hovering behind me

Your presence is heavy, thick

 

I hear you

Every morning like a skipping record player

You’re relentless in your torment

 

I hear you

The voice of doubt and fear

You paralyze me

 

I recognize you

The persistent lie that feeds on my anxiety

You obscure the truth

 

I know you

The warped, cavernous black hole

You are my thoughts filling the darkness

One thought on “You

Leave a Reply

